Gigi Award of Excellence


The Gigi Award of Excellence was created at a conference planning meeting in late 1999 to honor a former or current marketing professional for significant contributions made to professionalize and educate the live entertainment industry with substantial involvement in the conference.

The award was named after Gigi Pilhofer, who became the first recipient of the annual honor in 2000. We honored Gigi for her insight, vision and efforts to professionalize event marketing.

Criteria for Gigi Award of Excellence include impact in the live entertainment industry, significant contributions to the EVMC conference, and influence in marketing, communications, or social media trends. Gigi nominees must have been a former EVMC Board or Executive Board member, not currently serving.



  • Gigi Pilhofer (2000)*
  • Sydney Greenblatt (2001)
  • Rich Oriolo (2002)
  • Edie Brown (2003)
  • Russ Simons (2004)
  • Karen Swan (2005)*
  • Hilary Hartung (2006)
  • Tammy Koolbeck (2007)
  • Bobby Goldwater (2008)
  • Sunny Rubenstein (2009)
  • Larry Rubin (2010)*
  • Jim Delaney (2011)
  • Bob Collins (2012)
  • Cliff Clinger (2013)
  • Suzanne Richardson (2014)
  • Roberta Wright (2015)
  • Pam Deville (2016)
  • Vince Egan (2017)*
  • Joe Flanagan (2018)
  • Linda Deckard (2019)
  • Vanessa Kromer (2022)
  • Tami Allen (2023)
  • Liz Roca (2024)



EVMC accepts nominations prior to the fall planning meetings. A vote is then taken during the fall planning meeting with the Gigi honoree receiving the Award of Excellence at the annual conference in June. If you are interested in nominating an individual, please contact a board member with the name and biographical information.